Original Song: Into The Eye Of Harmony

When I was about 16 years old, I started learning how to play “Cathedral” by the great Edward Van Halen. That song uses a repeated delay and volume swells, literally turning the guitar’s volume control up and down with each tapped note. I began playing around with that same exact delay setting on my Digitech Digital Delay pedal (which, regrettably, I sold about a a year ago) and came up with my own song.

Anyway, I had a lot of fun with what I came up with, and even got to play it live at a huge family reunion that our extended family had at Orange Beach in Gulf Shores, Alabama sometime in the late 80s. I never recorded the song, other than with a tape recorder set up next to my amp, until recently.

You can here it here.

I had never come up with a name for the song, but I decided it was time to make a recording and give it a name. The song is called Into The Eye of Harmony and was recording using the HD500X both for the guitar parts and for the bass (using my typical setup of using my guitar with the Flip Top Bass amp model with a bass octaver effect). I found a royalty free drum track on the web and set out to record a quick demo of the guitar part, but ended up using that first take without doing another. Since I hadn’t previously written a bass part, I just improvised the bass part in two takes.

I enjoyed finally getting this recorded and mixed and I hope you enjoy listening to it.

Leave a Reply

